For my bassoon playing pals who love Rite. Or not.

30. May 2013 · Comments Off · Categories: TQOD

I want to start a band with a percussion section of pots and pans. We’d be unique. Perhaps an oboe and a french horn to fill out the melody.

30. May 2013 · Comments Off · Categories: Concert Announcements

… morning for those of us on the West Coast …

FREE Live webcast Friday, May 31 at 10:45 am EDT
Los Angeles 7:45 am / New York 10:45 am / Paris 4:45 pm / Tokyo 11:45 pm

FIND IN MY TIME ZONE

WATCH ON DSO.ORG/LIVE
OR ON THE DSO TO GO MOBILE APP FOR iOS OR ANDROID

The Program
Pianist extraordinaire André Watts closes the season with MacDowell’s second piano concerto, and Leonard Slatkin conducts a Detroit-inspired world premiere by Missy Mazzoli and Tchaikovsky’s triumphant fourth symphony.

READ PROGRAM NOTES (pdf)

Leonard Slatkin conductor
André Watts piano

BACH Suite No.3 in D major, BWV 1068: Air on the G String
MISSY MAZZOLI River Rouge Transfiguration
(world premiere and Lebenbom Award winner*)
MACDOWELL Piano Concerto No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No. 4

* Missy Mazzoli is the winner of the Elaine Lebenbom Memorial Award for Female Composers, granted annually to a living woman composer, of any age or nationality, in the spirit of recognizing and supporting the creation of new orchestral works by women. The award is inspired by the late Elaine Lebenbom, a composer, teacher, poet, artist, lecturer, and resident of Bloomfield Hills, Michigan.