… and it is Thomas Dausgaard. He begins in the 2019-2020 season.

Barber: Adagio for Strings (Original Version, for String Quartet)
Dover Quartet

Jocelyn Hagen: I Lift Up My Eyes
CORO Vocal Artists

Purcell: Rejoyce in the Lord alway
Collegium Vocale Gent; Capriccio Stravagante; Skip Sempé, Conductor

Received via email:

Dear California oboe friends,

I am thrilled to host a masterclass by Scott Hostetler, English horn for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, at UC Santa Barbara on Saturday, Oct. 21, 1-3:30pm. Scott was my teacher at Northwestern University, where he still teaches, and he also teaches at the John Mack Oboe Camp in North Carolina. The event is FREE and open to the public. More importantly, I still have performances spaces for the masterclass available. Please let me know if you or your students (advanced high school and up) are interested in playing or attending. Performers are free to play anything they wish, be it oboe or English horn, excerpts or solo repertory.

More information can be found here: music.ucsb.edu/news/event/1394. There is also a facebook event page: www.facebook.com/events/480584135647151/ I have attached a flyer; feel free to send it along to anyone who might be interested. Hope to see you there!


I urge any who can attend to go hear this recital. I heard Mingjia play the Britten and was just blown away! I wish like anything I could go to this, but I have a conflict. Rats!

From Mingjia:

J. Reese Norris: An Old Irish Blessing
CoroRio Choris

Light of a Clear Blue Morning

Just because.

Stephen Paulus: Pilgrim’s Hymn (from The Three Hermits)
The Concordia choir; Rene Clausen, Conductor

When is first saw the video I thought the oboist was trying to get water out of his octave key, yet I didn’t hear any issue that implied the octave key had an issue. After reading this article it makes more sense: his reed cracked!

Yep, that happens. NOT fun, believe me!