11. July 2011 · Comments Off on Well SHOOT! · Categories: Opera, Press Releases

Performances of Das Rheingold, Die Walküre, Siegfried and Götterdämmerung have been recorded for the San Francisco Opera International Radio Broadcast, available locally on Classical KDFC (90.3 in San Francisco, 89.9 in the North/East Bay, 89.7 in Eureka, 92.5 in Lakeport/Ukiah) on the following dates: Das Rheingold (September 4), Die Walküre (October 2), Siegfried (November 6) and Götterdämmerung (December 4). The Ring operas will also be broadcast both nationally and internationally through the WFMT Radio Network. At this time, there are no immediate plans to release this new San Francisco Opera Ring cycle on DVD or to remount this production in the near future.

It’s this last part that causes disappointment. I SO hoped that videos would be made of the San Francisco Opera production. I know I would have purchased them immediately!

It’s great to read the entire press release and note what a success the Ring Cycle was. I know it’s something that will stay with me forever.

11. July 2011 · Comments Off on Oboe Outside My Little World · Categories: OutsideMyWorld™

… sort of, anyway …

From the YouTube info section:
Transfiguration for Oboe & Korean Music Orchestra by Lee Guisuk, Performed by the Seoul Youth Korean Music Orchestra, Conduct by SungJin KIM

11. July 2011 · Comments Off on Ragtime Mozart · Categories: MozartMusicMatters™

Piece: “Ragtime alla turca” (based on Mozart’s “Rondo alla turca” from his Sonata in A major, K. 331.
Composers: Greg Anderson & Elizabeth Joy Roe
Performers: The Anderson & Roe Piano Duo ( http://www.andersonroe.com )

11. July 2011 · Comments Off on FBQD · Categories: FBQD

almost exploded from excitement when i saw Johnathan Daniels playing the OBOE this morning!!! I don’t feel so alone anymore :

11. July 2011 · Comments Off on Nothing’s Up To Date On Oboeinsight · Categories: Ramble

Sorry, all, but I’m just neglecting a few things here and I think I need to admit I can’t keep up! I’m debating simply pulling down some pages, since I haven’t updated them in so long, but I hate to just drop ’em completely. But still, please know all those lists I compiled years ago which you can see in the pull down menus above (Or just see Dated Material and Double Reed Musicians are full of errors.

I do want to draw your attention to the Musical Chairs’ page that lists oboe and English horn job openings. They list auditions all around the world. Well worth a look. Of course if you are in the AFM you can look there as well. I will soon, I believe, pull down the current audition page completely. I’ll leave up the past audition list because it is somewhat informative regarding rep that’s been asked for. From now on I’ll just announce auditions on the main blog page and leave it at that.

11. July 2011 · Comments Off on I Like This Kind Of Crazy! · Categories: Concert Announcements

Poland has organised a classical music festival in the capital this autumn, which will pack 70 concerts into a four-day period.
The “Szalone Dni Muzyki” (Crazy Day of Music) festival, will run from September 29 to October 2 in Warsaw, organisers said, featuring music by Brahms, Liszt, Mahler and Strauss.
“These are short concerts, each lasting around 50 minutes, with ticket prices that put them within the range of a broader public,” the festival’s French artistic director Rene Martin told reporters.
Tickets cost 10 zloty (2.50 euros, $3.60).
The festival, in its second year, is a spin-off of France’s “La Folle Journee”, held in the city of Nantes in Brittany, western France.
A total of 27,000 people attended the 2010 edition, but organisers are hoping to double that this year.

(I won’t mention that the “crazy day” is actually four days long. Nope. Not gonna mention that! Aren’t you glad?)

But I really do love this idea! All this music, four intense days. All affordable. Very cool!

I read it here.

11. July 2011 · Comments Off on TQOD · Categories: TQOD

“No, really, it’s the reed’s fault!” #Oboeplayer

11. July 2011 · Comments Off on For Your Listening Enjoyment · Categories: For Your Listening Enjoyment

How about a little Paquito D’Rivera? With woodwinds.

This features The Fifth House Ensemble. ANd hey … they have a blog too.

11. July 2011 · Comments Off on Kimbaungist Symphony Orchestra (& More) · Categories: Videos

Just watch and listen. You don’t need my words here.