02. March 2012 · Comments Off on Symphony Silicon Valley, 2012-13 Season · Categories: Symphony

It’s been announced in an email (which I’ve cut & pasted below), and is up at the website Here you go!

A Season of Stars

Today Symphony Silicon Valley announced plans for our 2012-2013 Classics Season. The season, running from September 2012 through June 2013, features a range of prestigious concert artists joining our orchestra for a sampling of the world’s best music. Distinguished pianist Peter Serkin returns to San Jose after a twenty-year absence to perform Brahms with close friend Maestro George Cleve: Legendary violinist Andrés Cárdenes brings us a lush concerto born somewhere between old Vienna and 1930’s Hollywood. International touring superstar Karen Gomyo, who’s playing reviewers call ‘sumptuous,’ “dazzling,’ and ‘just plain gorgeous,’ joins us for the solo violin in Lalo’s passionate Symphony Espagnole. Broadway diva Lisa Vroman, who dazzled our audiences in Brahms and Broadway concerts, returns to bring Kurt Weill’s theater music irresistibly to life. Classical guitar king Jason Vieaux will work his Flamenco magic on Rodrigo’s haunting Concerto de Aranjuez. Check out each of next season’s seven concerts, below, for more information!

Beethoven’s 5th
Saturday 8:00 pm September 29, 2012
Sunday 2:30 pm September 30, 2012
The most famous four notes in classical music launch our 2012-13 season: Beethoven’s mighty 5th, the keystone of an all-orchestra night. A lively Rossini overture introduces the concert, followed by Berlioz’s favorite of all his works. Romeo and Juliette was colored by the composer’s own love story; and audiences share his affection for its ‘Love Scene,’ from its atmospheric opening to its ecstatic conclusion. In the Rhapsody that follows, Liszt conjures up a carnival in 1840 Budapest, filled with Hungarian folk tunes and musical fireworks.
Conductor: Paul Polivnick
Gioachino Rossini: Torvaldo & Dorliska Overture
Hector Berlioz: ‘Love Scene’ from Romeo & Juliette
Franz Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 9 Carnival in Pest
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 5 in C minor

Symphonie Espagnole
Saturday 8:00 pm October 20, 2012
Sunday 2:30 pm October 21, 2012
Maestro John Nelson is noted worldwide for his mastery of large-scale Romantic music, and this concert is made to order. Lalo’s passionate Symphonie Espagnole is more violin concerto than symphony. Written for the supreme Spanish virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate, it tests the most skilled of violinists, and we have invited the young international sensation, Karen Gomyo, to perform this work for us. The program closes with the first of Dvorak’s great symphonies, packed with color and melody.
Conductor: John Nelson
Soloist: Karen Gomyo, violin
Franz von Suppe: Dichter und Bauer Overture
Edouard Lalo: Symphonie Espagnole
Antonin Dvorak: Symphony No. 6 in D major

Serkin, Brahms & Tchaikovsky
Saturday 8:00 pm December 1, 2012
Sunday 2:30 pm December 2, 2012
Brahms and Tchaikovsky together should be enough for any concert. But to cap this one off, we have engaged master pianist Peter Serkin to perform the D-minor Concerto with his frequent collaborator, Maestro George Cleve. Our December program marks Serkin’s first San Jose appearance in over two decades. Brahms’s concerto is paired with the deeply dramatic symphony that Tchaikovsky himself called “the best thing I ever composed or ever shall compose.”
Conductor: George Cleve
Soloist: Peter Serkin, piano
Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor
Pyotr Illyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 Pathétique

Kurt Weill: Berlin / Paris / New York
Saturday 8:00 pm January 12, 2013
Sunday 2:30 pm January 13, 2013
Great numbers of artists left Europe for America in the 1930s and 40s, and the move transformed both them and their new home. Kurt Weill was one of these, and his music mirrored his journey. In this concert / cabaret, we hear first 1920’s Berlin (Three Penny Opera, with its immortal ‘Mack the Knife’); then Paris (Seven Deadly Sins, part opera, part theater); and finally New York, where Weill helped shape the music of Broadway. Vroman, ‘a musical and theatrical marvel,’ (S.F. Chronicle) joins the orchestra in Weill’s Seven Deadly Sins and in unforgettable Broadway melodies from ‘My Ship’ to ‘Lost in the Stars.’
Conductor: James Holmes
Soloist: Lisa Vroman, soprano
Kurt Weill: Three Penny Opera Suite
Kurt Weill: Seven Deadly Sins
Kurt Weill: Broadway Medley

Verdi’s Requiem
Saturday 8:00 pm March 23, 2013
Sunday 2:30 pm March 24, 2013
To celebrate Verdi’s 200th anniversary, the orchestra and chorale perform his dramatic Requiem in the resonant and resplendent California Theatre. Written for the concert hall rather than the cathedral, the Requiem moves from the awe and majesty of Judgment Day to the tenderness of a prayer for peace. With opera credits that range from Milan to the Met, Maestro Bisanti returns to conduct this moving work by the great Italian master of vocal magic.
Conductor: Giampaolo Bisanti
Soloists: Symphony Silicon Valley Chorale, Elena Sharkova, Director
Daniela Innamorati
Giuseppe Verdi: Requiem

An American In Paris
Saturday 8:00 pm May 11, 2013
Sunday 2:30 pm May 12, 2013
Our American sampler program offers us two city portraits: George Gershwin’s high-spirited visit to busy Paris streets and crowded cafes, and Bernstein’s vision of New York’s excitement, brutality, and hope. They are prefaced by Cárdenes, Cuban-born Tchaikovsky Violin Competition winner, performing Korngold’s concerto. A musical prodigy, Korngold fled pre-war Vienna to the U.S, where he wrote movie scores (The Adventures of Robin Hood, The Sea Hawk) that revolutionized film music. After Hitler’s defeat, he returned to classical composition and wrote this concerto for Jascha Heifitz in 1945. Just as his great film scores are tone poems at heart, themes from his films permeate this richly romantic work.
Conductor: Paul Polivnick
Soloist: Andrés Cárdenes, violin
John Adams: The Chairman Dances
Erich Korngold: Violin Concerto in D major
Leonard Bernstein: On the Waterfront Suite
George Gershwin: An American in Paris

A Hero’s Life
Saturday 8:00 pm June 1, 2013
Sunday 2:30 pm June 2, 2013
Following Debussy’s sprightly dance, Jason Vieaux, hailed as the modern master of his instrument, performs the most popular guitar concerto in the classical repertory. Rodrigo’s dream of Spanish gardens is followed by Ein Heldenleben, or A Hero’s Life, one of Strauss’s last and greatest tone poems. Strauss employs all the resources of a large-scale orchestra to tell the story that he summarized as “a hero fighting his enemies.” A true orchestral showpiece, it concludes our 11th season on a note of triumphant opulence.
Conductor: Gregory Vajda
Soloist: Jason Vieaux, guitar
Claude Debussy: Danse (Tarantelle Styrienne)
Joaquin Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez
Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben

Comments closed.