… or for those of you in different time zones, “Concert, Anyone?”

Detroit is offering up a concert for free through this weekend. Just click here and watch and listen!

The Program

Originally aired March 16, 2013

One of our audience favorite programs of the season — Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos conducts Dvo?ák’s Symphony No. 8 and Stravinsky’s incomparable The Rite of Spring.

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos conductor

DVORÁK Symphony No. 8
STRAVINSKY The Rite of Spring

This is the one where the English horn has, if I’m remembering correctly, twelve notes. Yes, in the entire piece. And notice: they look to be doubling the woodwinds.


  1. Stravinsky Firebird suite 1919 version has 5 EH notes…I’m not sure the Dvorak even has 12, although I might be remembering wrong.

  2. Oh that’s right … I’d forgotten about Firebird! Thanks, Kimo! But yes, I counted and the Dvorak has 12. 🙂