Tiara Michelle Oberoi: Lacrimosa
Singers: Tiana Esther Oberoi, Ryan Joseph, Ria Bhatnagar, Anjali Pramod, and the composer herself, Tiara Michelle Oberoi

Jayne Southwick Cool: When Memory Fades (arr. Eric Nelson)
St. Olaf Choir; Anton Armstrong, Conductor

When memory fades and recognition falters,
When eyes we love grow dim, and minds confused,
Speak to our souls of love that never alters;
Speak to our hearts by pain and fear abused.
O God of life and healing peace,
Empower us with patient courage, by your grace infused.

As the frailness grows, and youthful strengths diminish,
In weary arms, which worked their earnest fill.
Your aging servants labor now to finish….
Their earthly tasks as fits your mystery’s will.
We grieve their waning, yet rejoice, believing,
Your arms, unwearied, shall uphold us still.

Within your spirit, goodness lives unfading.
The past and future mingle into one.
All joys remain, un-shadowed light pervading.
No valued deed will ever be undone.
Your mind enfolds all finite acts and offerings.
Held in your heart, our deathless life is won.

— Mary Louise Bringle

Patricia Van Ness: Psalm 17 Keep Me as the Apple of Your Eye
Cappella Clausura; Amelia LeClair, Director
Soli: Janet Ross, Shannon Larkin, Teri Kowiak, Fausto Miro, Peter Schilling, Will Prapestis, Anthony Garza

Donna McKevitt: Nunc Dimittis
The Gesualdo Six

Patricia Van Ness: My Heart is a Holy Place
Ensemble from the Chancel Choir of Bellevue Presbyterian Church; Scott Dean, Director

(Finding virtual choir performances is getting more challenging, so from here on out I’ll not stick to that plan. In addition my women composers series might be fading out — sadly it’s not easy to find them online.)

Rosephanye Powell: Non Nobis Domine
Smule Anatolians Polyphonic Choir

“Not unto us, O Lord, not unto us, but to thy name give the glory”

Julia Perry: How Beautiful Are The Feet
Singers: Brooke Shelley, Anna Sandstrom, Josie Ryan, Janine Harris.
Organ: David Drury.
Conductor: Sam Allchurch

Elizabeth Poston: The Apple Tree
The Choir of St. Thomas Episcopal Church

Florence B. Price: Praise the Lord
First Congregational Church; Stephen O’Bent, Minister of Music & Arts

Sopranos: Reneice Charles & Virginia Daugherty
Altos: Nancy Bos & Katie Bent
Tenors: Randy Wallingford & Sam Bent
Basses: Adrien Redford & Stephen O’Bent
Piano: Laura Ouimette

video and audio by Stephen O’Bent

learn more about Florence B. Price, who was awesome: http://www.florenceprice.org/

31. January 2021 · Comments Off on Sunday Evening Music · Categories: Sunday Evening Music · Tags: , ,

Anna Semple: Ad Te Domine
Ensemble Nova